celsius-fahrenheit.net - a service by
brückentage.info

The Celsius-temperature-scale

Anders Celsius developed his temperature-scale in 1742, just months before his death. Previously, he made many experiments to study the dependence of the melting and boiling point of water from the ambient pressure. He discovered that the melting temperature of water from the ambient pressure is independent.

Celsius-temperature
lower fixed pointboiling point of water at normal pressure0 °C
upper fixed pointmelting point of water100 °C
fundamental distance100 degrees

It was his pupil, Mårten Strömer, who returned the scale, so that it received its current form. Some sources write, that Carl von Linné, the famous botanist and zoologist, who laid the foundations for the modern scheme of binomial nomenclature, developed the "forwards-Celsius-scale".

Celsius called his thermometer and the unit "centigrade". Only in 1948, the 9th International General Conference on Weights and Measures has determined the name "Celsius".

Anders Celsius

Anders Celsius source: Wikipedia, public domain

Anders Celsius was born on the seventh of December 1701, according to the Gregorian calendar, in Uppsala in Sweden. He came from an aristocratic family. Both his grandfathers and his father worked as professors for mathematics and astronomy in Uppsala.

With 24 he also became a professor for astronomy. He was a member of an expedition to measure the earth's size and he was the first, to measure the brightness of stars, even though in all of Sweden there were no observatory's. His first experiences with practical astronomy was in 1732 on a study trip, which also him led to Nuremberg. At Celsius' instigation the first observatory was opened in Sweden in 1741.

Anders Celsius died, according to the Gregorian calendar on the sixth of may 1744, aged 44 from tuberculosis in Uppsala.

celsius-fahrenheit.net - ein Service von
brückentage.info

Besuchen Sie auch:
Link zu ps-kw.net
Neu: alternativ-tankstelle.de

Die Celsius-Temperaturskala

Anders Celsius entwickelte seine Temperaturskala im Jahre 1742, also wenige Monate vor seinem Tod. Dem vorausgegangen waren eine Vielzahl von Experimenten zur Untersuchung der Abhängigkeit des Schmelz- und Siedepunktes von Wasser vom Umgebungsdruck. Er entdeckte, dass die Schmelztemperatur von Wasser praktisch vom Umgebungsdruck unabhängig ist.

Celsius-Temperatur
Unterer FixpunktSiedepunkt des Wassers bei Normaldruck0 °C
Oberer FixpunktSchmelzpunkt des Wassers100 °C
Fundamentalabstand100 Grad

Erst sein Schüler, Mårten Strömer, kehrte die Skala um, sodass sie ihr heutiges Aussehen erhielt. Einige Quellen schreiben die Entwicklung der "Vorwärts-Celsiusskala" auch Carl von Linné, dem berühmten Entwickler eines Klassifizierungssystems für Pflanzen, zu.

Celsius nannte sein Thermometer selbst "hundertteiliges Thermometer" und die Einheit der Temperatur entsprechend "Zentigrad". Erst im Jahre 1948 hat die 9. Internationale Generalkonferenz für Maß und Gewicht den Namen "Celsius" bestimmt.

Anders Celsius

Anders Celsius Quelle: Wikipedia, gemeinfrei

Anders Celsius wurde nach dem gregorianischen Kalender am 7. Dezember 1701 in der schwedischen Stadt Uppsala geboren. Er entstammt einer Adelsfamilie. Seine beiden Großväter und auch sein Vater waren in Uppsala Professoren für Mathematik bzw. Astronomie.

Mit 29 Jahren wurde er Professor für Astronomie in Uppsala. Er nahm an einer Expedition zur Vermessung der Erde teil und war der Erste, der die Helligkeiten der Sterne gemessen hat und dies obwohl es in ganz Schweden keine einzige Sternwarte gab. Erste Erfahrungen mit der praktischen Astronomie machte er 1732 auf einer Studienreise, die ihn unter anderem auch nach Nürnberg führte. Auf Celsius' Betreiben konnte im Jahre 1741 das erste schwedische Observatorium eröffnet werden.

Anders Celsius starb nach dem gregorianischen Kalender am 6. Mai 1744  im Alter von 42 Jahren an Tuberkulose ebenfalls in Uppsala.