celsius-fahrenheit.net - a service by
brückentage.info

The Fahrenheit-temperature-scale

Daniel Gabriel Fahrenheit developed his temperature-scale in 1714. One very cold winters day he declared that this must be coldest temperature that exist all over the world. And with a cooling bath he laid this as the lowest point of his scale.

Fahrenheit-temperature (Fahrenheit's definition)
lower fixed pointtemperature of a cooling bath0 °F
upper fixed pointbody temperature of a healthy person96 °F
fundamental distance96 Grad
Fahrenheit-temperature (today's definition)
lower fixed pointmelting point of water32 °F
upper fixed pointboiling point of water at normal pressure212 °F
fundamental distance180 Grad

The Fahrenheit-scale was used in Europe for a long time, as it was superseded from the Celsius-scale in the 19th century. In modern times it is used only in the United States.

Daniel Gabriel Fahrenheit

Daniel Gabriel Fahrenheit source: daviddarling.info

Daniel Gabriel Fahrenheit was born on the 24th May 1686, according to the Gregorian calendar, in Danzig. Danzig at this time was a free city under Polish sovereignty. He was from a shopkeepers family.

Because of the early death of his parents this stopped him from studying medicine, instead he studied merchandising in Amsterdam. At the end of his studying he busied himself with the measuring of temperature. Some sources say that Fahrenheit was the first to produce a working thermometer. In 1714 he moved finally to Amsterdam where he taught and worked as a instrument maker. He had contact to prominent scientists of this time and in 1724 was made a member of the London Royal Society.

Fahrenheit became poor from not been able to sell his inventions. Daniel Gabriel Fahrenheit died according to the Gregorain calendar on the 16th September 1736 at the age of 50 on a trip to The Hague.

celsius-fahrenheit.net - ein Service von
brückentage.info

Besuchen Sie auch:
Link zu ps-kw.net
Neu: alternativ-tankstelle.de

Die Fahrenheit-Temperaturskala

Daniel Gabriel Fahrenheit entwickelte seine Temperaturskala im Jahre 1714. Als er an einem besonders kalten Wintertag vor die Tür trat, behauptete er, dass dies die tiefste Temperatur auf Erden sei und legte diese, mit einer Kältemischung nachempfunden, als unteren Fixpunkt seiner Temperaturskala fest.

Fahrenheit-Temperatur (Fahrenheits Festlegungen)
Unterer FixpunktTemperatur einer Kältemischung0 °F
Oberer FixpunktKörpertemperatur eines gesunden Menschen96 °F
Fundamentalabstand96 Grad
Fahrenheit-Temperatur (heutige Definition)
Unterer FixpunktSchmelzpunkt von Wasser32 °F
Oberer FixpunktSiedepunkt von Wasser bei Normaldruck212 °F
Fundamentalabstand180 Grad

Die Fahrenheit-Skala war lange Zeit in Europa in Gebrauch, bis sie etwa im 19. Jahrhundert durch die Celsius-Skala abgelöst wurde. Heutzutage wird sie nur noch in den USA verwendet.

Daniel Gabriel Fahrenheit

Daniel Gabriel Fahrenheit Quelle: daviddarling.info

Daniel Gabriel Fahrenheit wurde nach dem gregorianischen Kalender am 24. Mai 1686 in Danzig geboren. Danzig war damals eine freie Stadt unter polnischer Oberhoheit. Er entstammt einer Kaufmannsfamilie.

Aufgrund des frühen Todes seiner Eltern konnte Fahrenheit nicht Medizin studieren, sondern abdolvierte in Amsterdam eine Kaufmannslehre. Nach Beendigung dieser Lehre beschäftigte er sich unter anderem mit Temperaturmessungen. Einigen Quellen zufolge war Fahrenheit der Erste, dem es gelang zwei Thermometer herzustellen, die auch tatsächlich dieselbe Temperatur anzeigten. 1714 zog er endgültig nach Amsterdam, hielt Vorlesungen und arbeitete als Instrumentenbauer. Er hatte Kontakte zu namhaften Wissenschaftlern seiner Zeit und wurde im Jahre 1724 zu einem Mitglied der Londoner Royal Society gewählt.

Fahrenheit verarmte zusehens, weil es ihm nicht gelang, seine Erfindungen gewinnbringend zu verkaufen. Daniel Gabriel Fahrenheit starb nach dem gregorianischen Kalender am 16. September 1736  im Alter von 50 Jahren während einer Reise in Den Haag.