celsius-fahrenheit.net - a service by
brückentage.info

The Kelvin-temperature-scale

Sir William Thomson, better known as Lord Kelvin of Largs, presented the temperature scale named after him later in 1848. This followed research in the field of thermodynamics. Lord Kelvin and Rankine recognized that nature itself has determined the minimum temperature. This is achieved when the particles of an object come completely to rest. Consequently, they arranged the temperature 0 to this state. The unit (K), named according Lord Kelvin's absolute temperature scale, is the SI-unit of temperature since 1968.

The Kelvin-scale uses the same scale as the Celsius-scale, so the conversion very simple:

[K] = [°C] + 273,15

[°C] = [K] - 273,15

Lord Kelvin

Lord Kelvin source: Wikipedia, no known copyright-restrictions

William Thomson was born on the 28th July 1824 in the Irish city of Belfast as the son of a mathematics teacher. At the age of ten, he enters the university of Glasgow, six years later he went to Cambridge. There he published his first publication in 1842, showing the connections between thermal theory and electricity. More than 650 should follow.

Lord Kelvin belongs to the founders of the classic thermodynamics, but he was also in other areas very successfull. He discovered the Thomson's rule, an equation for calculating the resonant frequency of a resonant circuit. Through his researches he registered over 70 patents.

Lord Kelvin died on the 17th of December 1907 in the near from Largs in Scotland.

celsius-fahrenheit.net - ein Service von
brückentage.info

Besuchen Sie auch:
Link zu ps-kw.net
Neu: alternativ-tankstelle.de

Die Kelvin-Temperaturskala

Sir William Thomson, besser bekannt als Lord Kelvin of Largs, präsentierte die später nach ihm benannte Temperaturskala im Jahre 1848. Vorausgegangen waren Forschungen auf dem Gebiet der Thermodynamik. Lord Kelvin und Rankine erkannten, dass die Natur selbst die kleinste Temperatur festgelegt hat. Sie wird dann erreicht wenn die Teilchen eines Körpers vollständig zur Ruhe kommen. Folgerichtig ordneten sie diesem Zustand die Temperatur 0 zu. Die Einheit (K) der nach Lord Kelvin benannten absoluten Temperaturskala ist in der heutigen Form seit 1968 SI-Einheit der Temperatur.

Die Kelvinskala verwendet dieselbe Gradeinteilung wie die Celsiusskala, deshalb ist die Umrechnung sehr einfach:

[K] = [°C] + 273,15

[°C] = [K] - 273,15

Lord Kelvin

Lord Kelvin Quelle: Wikipedia, keine bekannten Copyright-Einschränkungen

William Thomson wurde am 26. Juli 1824 in der irischen Stadt Belfast als Sohn eines Mathematiklehrers geboren. Schon im Alter von 10 Jahren wurde er an der Universität Glasgow eingeschrieben, die er nach sechs Jahren verließ um nach Cambridge zu wechseln. Dort veröffentlichte er 1842 seine erste Publikation, die sich mit Beziehungen von Wärmetheorie und Elektrizität beschäftigte. Mehr als 650 weitere sollten folgen.

Lord Kelvin gehört zu den Begründern der klassischen Thermodynamik, war aber auch auf anderen Gebieten sehr erfolgreich. So entdeckte er die nach ihm benannte Thomsonsche Schwingungsgleichung, welche Schwingungen in elektrischen Schwingkreisen beschreibt. Im Laufe seiner Forschungen wurden ihm mehr als 70 Patente erteilt.

Lord Kelvin starb am 17. Dezember 1907 in der Nähe von Largs (Schottland).